New Dawn Fades

Posted on
New Dawn Fades - Joy Division [Unknown Pleasure] }

New Dawn Fades by Joy Division

New Dawn Fades is the fifth song of the album named Unknown Pleasures. Ian Curtis is the singer of this track, also the album. it has been released on June 15, 1979. New Dawn Fades is all about differences between personalities; when we fall for one, we don’t care about the differences and moreover, we dig the differences of our lover that enrich them. And when it’s all done, one has the theory that the person whom he loved has changed.

New Dawn Fades

A change of speed, a change of style.
A change of scene, with no regrets,
A chance to watch, admire the distance,
Still occupied, though you forget.
Different colors, different shades,
Over each mistake we’ve made.
I took the blame.
Directionless so plain to see,
A loaded gun won’t set you free.
So you say.
We’ll share a drink and step outside,
An angry voice and one who cried,
‘We’ll give you everything and more,
The strain’s too much, can’t take much more.’
I’ve walked on water, run through fire,
Can’t seem to feel it anymore.
It was me, waiting for me,
Hoping for something more,
Me, seeing me this time,
Hoping for something else.

Post Script

I highly recommend this Unknown Pleasure album. the storytelling, the feeling of Ian’s voice. Unknown Pleasures has 10 song which New Dawn Fades is its 5th track. the other tracks are: Disorder, Day Of The Lords, Candidate, Insight, She’s Lost Control, Shadowplay, Wilderness, Interzone and I Remember Nothing.

One Reply to “New Dawn Fades”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *